01832 864 444

A Level Results

United Learning Holds Annual Best in Everyone Awards

United Learning Holds Annual Best in Everyone Awards

On Friday 4th July, we held our second annual Best in Everyone Awards to recognise the achievements of our students and staff.

Hosted by Surbiton High School, the evening saw students from across the Group pick up awards for outstanding academic and extracurricular achievements including Charity, Community and Leadership, Sports-Man and -Woman of the Year, Pupil of the Year and Young Hero of the Year as well as subject-based awards.

As a group that strives to bring out the ‘best in everyone’, it is fitting that we hold an annual event to celebrate the remarkable achievements of our students and staff across our Group.

Over 400 nominations were received from United Learning secondary schools across the country and our judging panel were given the challenging task of considering all of the outstanding nominees and selecting the winners. The judging panel consisted of:

  • Jon Coles – Group Chief Executive;
  • David Levin – Managing Director of Independent Schools;
  • Tracy Ruddle – Primary Director for Education;
  • Lord Carey – President of United Learning.

The finalists travelled to Surbiton High School for the black tie awards ceremony where the winners were presented with their prestigious trophies.

The winners and their parents and teachers were treated to musical performances from Edward Mair from Lincoln Minster School, Maisi Tozer from Ashford School and Oliver Hussey from Accrington Academy. They also heard from two guest speakers; ex-Premier League footballer and BBC presenter, Stewart Castledine and British Olympic skier, Chemmy Alcott, delivered inspirational speeches in which they encouraged students to aim high and work hard to achieve their dreams.

It was not just about the students; there were also award categories for staff:

  • NQT of the Year
  • Inspirational Teacher of the Year
  • Life Time Achievement Award
  • Support Staff of the Year Award
  • Staff Team of the Year Award

For a full list of winners, click here.

Group Chief Executive Jon Coles said:

‘Our ethos is to bring out “the best in everyone.” These awards celebrate that ethos, and some of those who most embody it. Of the hundreds of worthy nominees selected by their schools because of their exceptional work and efforts, we celebrated those young people and colleagues who achieved the most, made the greatest progress and inspired their peers.’

Ann Haydon, Principal of Surbiton High School, said:

‘These awards are a perfect opportunity to recognise and reward young people educated at United Learning schools for their performance, perseverance and participation and to acknowledge the dedication, professionalism and inspiration that are offered by our staff.’

The Best in Everyone Awards was sponsored by: 

  • Caterlink
  • Gastro Catering
  • Chartwells Independent
  • Mr W Botterille – Ex Surbiton High School Parent
  • RS Academics
  • Utilitywise and Astute Procurement Solutions
  • Grant Thornton
  • Howarth Litchfield Partnership
  • Franklin Ellis Architects
  • Ash Contracting Limited
  • Synergy Construction and Property Consultants LLP
  • CMM Technology
  • Ricoh UK Limited
  • A3 Design and Print
  • Perrett Laver
  • Teaching Awards

Click here to visit the Lincoln Minster School website and find our more


Posted: Jul 22, 2014,
Comments: 0,
Author: Anonym

Website Terms & Privacy

United Learning