01832 864 444

A Level Results

United Learning Holds Best in Everyone Primary School Awards

United Learning Holds Best in Everyone Primary School Awards

On Friday 19 June 2015, United Learning held its first Best in Everyone Primary Awards to celebrate the achievements of its pupils and staff at the Group’s primary schools.

The Best in Everyone Awards were launched in the Autumn Term of 2014 when staff across the Group’s primary schools were invited to nominate pupils for the awards who they thought deserved special recognition for their outstanding achievements, determination and commitment to learning.

Over 100 nominations were received and judges then had the arduous task of choosing the winners out of so many worthy nominees. The finalists from United Learning schools across the country travelled to London for the Awards Ceremony held at the House of Lords, where the winners were presented with their prestigious trophies.

As well as attending the Awards Ceremony, the winners were treated to an excitement packed Experience Day in London. They enjoyed the spectacular views across the city from the London Eye, took a walk across Westminster Bridge and toured the Houses of Parliament with United Learning President the Rt Revd & Rt Hon Lord Carey.

The winners were:

School Ambassador: Madison Homer, Corngreaves Primary Academy

Overall Pupil of the Year: Tom Hunt, Surbiton High Boys’ School

Outstanding Achievement (Years 2 to 4): Harrison Baugh, Corngreaves Primary Academy

Outstanding Achievement (Years 5 and 6): Emma Stent, St Ives School for Girls

Sports Pupil of the Year: Farren McCorrisken, Abbey Hey Primary Academy

Creative Arts: Daeun Lee, Surbiton High Girls’ School

Inspirational Journey: Harley O’Donnell, Cravenwood Primary Academy

Independent Learning and Resilience: Yousif Abdelael-Wait, Hanwell Fields Communtiy School

Young Heroes Award: Kai Hughes, Southway Primary School

There were also three awards for staff and governors:

Teacher of the Year: Penny Willetts, Ashford Prep School

Support Staff of the Year: Sue Whitehead, Abbey Hey Primary Academy

Volunteer of the Year: Diane Willson, Southway Primary School

The judging panel for the Primary Awards comprised:

Jon Coles – Chief Executive

Lord Carey – President of United Learning

Darran Lee and Tracy Ruddle – Primary Directors of United Learning

David Levin – Director of Independent Schools for United Learning

Linda Heaver – United Learning Trustee responsible for primary schools

United Learning Chief Executive Jon Coles said:

“Our Best in Everyone Primary Awards celebrate some very special children, staff and schools. The huge number of nominations we received reflects the very great success and progress of many children in our school. The award winners are a remarkable group who really do represent the very best of primary schooling.”

Overall Pupil of the Year Tom Hunt said:

“It was really enjoyable and unique and I learnt a lot of things that day. It was probably one of the best days of my life.”

Kai Hughes, winner of the Young Heroes Award, said of the day:

“I loved going on the London Eye – it was awesome. My award made me feel really happy and is now on show in my living room.”Daeun Lee, Creative Arts award winner, said:

“I was very proud of my achievement and to be given the opportunity to visit the House of Lords. The tour was extremely fun, especially when I went on the London Eye. I am very honoured to be the Creative Arts Pupil of the Year for 2015.”

Yousif Abdelael-Wait, winner of the Independent Learning and Resilience award said:

“I am really proud I got the award. Meeting new people was fun and helped me to be less shy. It was really good and I felt overwhelmed with my award and going to the House of Lords. It was a great experience going to London and it taught me that being resilient leads to good things.”



Website Terms & Privacy

United Learning