Free cookie consent management tool by TermsFeed 02/07/2024 - Best in Everyone Awards 2024 Celebrate Impressive Achievements of Students and Staff Across the GroupNews Stories | News | United Learning

News stories

02 July 2024

Best in Everyone Awards 2024 Celebrate Impressive Achievements of Students and Staff Across the Group

Catgeories : Group news

On Friday 21st June, students and staff from across United Learning commemorated the national winners of this year’s Best in Everyone Awards at a magnificent black-tie gala held at the Cutlers’ Hall in Sheffield.

First held in 2013, the annual Best in Everyone Awards celebrates the accomplishments, commitment and resilience of students and staff at United Learning schools across the country. The special awards evening recognises the talents of the Group’s young people and staff members, as well as giving credit to some of its most inspirational and hard-working individuals and teams.

To be in with a chance of taking home an award, candidates in each award category were first nominated by members of staff at their individual schools. These nominees were then put before a national panel of judges who had the difficult task of selecting this year’s winners.

Off the back of the national event, schools will be carrying out their own in-school Best in Everyone awards ceremonies throughout the Summer Term so that highly deserving students and staff can continue to be celebrated within their school communities. These winners will each receive a glass trophy from United Learning.

Sir Jon Coles, Chief Executive of United Learning, said:

“The Best in Everyone Awards are a real highlight of the United Learning calendar, providing an opportunity for us all to celebrate many amazing students and staff from across the Group. Not only do the awards honour those who have excelled academically, in the arts and in sport, they are also a chance to commend those whose impact on the people and places around them is exceptional. Very well done to all those who were nominated for an award and to this year’s winners. You are all thoroughly deserving of your success.”

 Each national award winner received a ticket for themselves and two guests to attend the live ceremony and black-tie dinner. The ceremony was hosted by our Head of Music and Performing Arts, Catherine Barker, and winners were presented with an engraved glass award by Sir Jon. Throughout the evening, attendees also enjoyed fantastic performances from the Hunningley Primary Academy choir, Northampton Academy student and winner of the Drama Award Thomas Bursnoll, and Swindon Academy student and winner of the Music (Performance) Award Joseyana Costa.

Two of the most coveted awards went to John Maher, Year 5 teacher at Avonwood Primary Academy and Pauline Riley, Student Support Mentor at Paddington Academy, who each received a Lifetime Achievement Award for their invaluable contributions to the teaching profession over several decades.

John, who is due to retire at the end of this academic year, said:

“I feel both humbled and honoured to be the recipient of this prestigious award. After 24 years in teaching, it is touching to be recognised for my contribution to primary education. I would like to thank and express my deepest appreciation both to United Learning and Avonwood for their encouragement, support and touching statements. It is truly appreciated. Thank you!”  

 The Student Council at Kettering Buccleuch Academy were crowned Team of the Year for their ambition and determination to making a positive difference to school life. Year 9 student, Lennon Clarke, said:

 “I am very proud to be part of KBA’s Student Council and this award is a recognition of the hard work put in by everyone who plays a part in what we do.”

 At Barnsley Academy, Year 10 student Kaitlyn Walker won the Leadership and Service Award. As Barnsley Youth Mayor and Chair of the school’s first ever Student Council, Kaitlyn plays impressive roles in both her school and local communities. Speaking of her win, Kaitlyn said:

"I'm honoured to have been chosen to receive such a prestigious award, alongside some of the most talented students in the UK. I wish to inspire the young people of my local constituency to possess the ambition and determination to lead a fulfilling life and reach their goals."

As in previous years, alongside the live awards ceremony, videos announcing the winners were posted on United Learning’s X account to be celebrated by an audience of over 12,000 peers, colleagues and families. A full list of the winners and a link to their video can be found below.

Thank you to Portakabin who were our headline sponsors for the 2024 awards.






Pupil Awards


Shristi Pradhan

The John Roan School


Ashiki Nandi

Northampton Academy


Victoria Knights

AKS Lytham


Ibrahim Ahmed

Walthamstow Academy


Georgina Cotes

Newstead Wood School


Kishi Jain

Newstead Wood School

Creative Writing

Haneen Eldegail

Swindon Academy


Tilly Beadell

Shoreham Academy

Design Technology

Bethan Adams

Huish Episcopi Academy


Thomas Bursnoll

Northampton Academy

English Literature

Sofia Ntege

North Oxfordshire Academy


Edith Squibb

Shoreham Academy


Leona Gashi

The John Roan School

Leadership and Service

Kaitlyn Walker

Barnsley Academy


Hung-Wen Liao

The Totteridge Academy


Freddie Jackson

Embley School

Music - Composition

Andy Allchurch

North Oxfordshire Academy

Music - Performance

Joseyana Costa

Swindon Academy


James Buckley

Cambridge Academy for Science and Technology

Religious Studies

Ollie McDermott

Glenmoor and Winton Academies

Social Science

Abby Ong

Newstead Wood School

Sportsman of the year

Leon Penketh

The Cornerstone Academy

Sportswoman of the year

Freya Moody

Guildford High School

Team of the year

KBA Student Council:

Matthew Walton,
Ethan Simmons, Robyn Turner-Allen, Will Warren, Leon Munto, Lewis Richmond, Ashley Adams, Finley Howitt, Lennon Clarke and Natasha Robinson

Kettering Buccleuch Academy

Resilience Award

Ikhlas Aminu

Sheffield Springs Academy

Staff Awards

Primary ECT of the year

Claire Ratican

The Galfrid School

Secondary ECT of the year

Sarah Morgan

Barnsley Academy

Primary Inspirational Teacher OTY

Neil Johnson

Hill View Primary School

Secondary Inspirational Teacher OTY

Cathy Green

Northampton Academy

Primary Lifetime Achievement Award

John Mather

Avonwood Primary

Secondary Lifetime Achievement Award

Pauline Riley

Paddington Academy

School Governor of the year

Margaret Woodhouse

The Lowry Academy

School Leader of the year

Claudia Allman

Glenmoor and Winton Academies

Staff Team of the year

Inclusion Department: Susan Tebbutt, Barron Appau, Nicole Britchfield, Victoria Taylor, Violetta Alia, Camelia Matei, Daud Warsame, Jodie Faulkner and Ashleigh France

The John Roan School

Support Staff of the year

Jeff Lee

Beacon View Primary Academy

Teaching Assistant of the year

Jane Darlington

Paddington Academy

Sustainability Award

Sharon Howitt

Guildford High School

Central Office Award

Tony Hayes

Geography Senior Subject Advisor


United Learning comprises: United Learning Ltd (Registered in England No: 00018582. Charity No. 313999) UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee.
Registered address: United Learning, Worldwide House, Thorpe Wood, Peterborough, PE3 6SB.

Financial Accountability and Freedom of Information
Website Terms, Cookies and Privacy